Motivation – what makes you get up and go?

What Motivates you?

i can do this

What Motivates You?

Take five minutes to think to yourself, what is it that makes you get up in the morning?

Make a list of the Top 5. What is at the top of your list?

What can you do to make things better?

Tough questions I know. For me, motivation is like a roller-coaster. I am a complete procrastinator, I am always putting things off. Thinking it would be better putting things off until tomorrow, then the next day and the next. Not realising that it is just building up on my shoulders until I’m stressed and can’t deal with them all at once. 

What I have learnt through the years is that motivation is something that you can control. If you have control of your mentality and your motivation, you will push out positivity.

 Motivational Tips

1) Morning Mantra

Verbalising things makes information stay in your head. So if you are saying “I am the best” or “there is no such things as failure” you will start believing what you are telling yourself. This action builds self-confidence that builds motivation which pushes out positive energy.  Doing this every morning, or whenever you can fit it into your day, will make it a habit and stick in your head as you are in control of your destiny and you have control.

 awesome

2) Motivational Imagery

What helps me is having a positive and motivational quote with an inspiring image that I stick to my door. I am always seeing it. Again, making me envisage success and sparking a fire in my belly to get up and go. 

Image

 3) Motivational video

Scenes from Gladiator spark motivation in me, when Maximus stands up to the emperor, revealing his true self. Motivational speeches on YouTube are really good for this.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_pEBz6PzF50 (Motivational Video 1)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9z4Kft47kBM  (Motivational Video 2)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oSomiNeUIfY  (Gladiator Video)

Watch these above, feel yourself rise up and get motivated.

4)To do lists

Making a list prioritises what you need to do first. Gives you a step by step process, of getting things done without panicking and stressing and trying to do it all at once. Lists provide structure and a way of controlling motivation and way of dealing with stress.

 

list

 5) Motivational Music

Music motivates me to get up and go, for a run or dance or even just to get out of bed in the morning. If you have a song that inspires you and makes you get up and go, be it Queen,Eminem or club music. Start listening to it,start your day feeling ready for anything.

What music motivates you? 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bmXumtgwtak (Eminem – Lose yourself)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VgSMxY6asoE (Rocky- Eye of the Tiger)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4LZcMv0H1bI (Hans Zimmer – Pirates of the Caribbean)

6) Exercise

Exercise is an important part of self-motivation. Be it dancing in your room, be it going for a run, or even yoga.  It makes you feel better about yourself and it boosts your self-esteem and self-motivation to get up and go.  So try and do a little bit each day,go for a walk to clear your head, yoga when you get home, or even a run.  Anything that makes you feel good about yourself is a positive.

body

7) Motivational Quotes

Last point is motivational quotes, similar to motivational imagery.Quotes stay with me in my day to day life. I remember quotes that inspire me, that hit home, or give me goose-bumps. Words, like music, have such an impact and have such power.

http://www.forbes.com/sites/kevinkruse/2013/05/28/inspirational-quotes/ (100 best motivational quotes)

Some of the best quotes that stay with me (Below)

destinty

 

  1. Limitations live only in our minds.  But if we use our imaginations, our possibilities become limitless. –Jamie Paolinetti
  2. Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter. –Martin Luther King Jr.
  3. Nothing is impossible, the word itself says, “I’m possible!” –Audrey Hepburn
  4. The only way to do great work is to love what you do. –Steve Jobs

So take these tips, practise these everyday and see the difference it makes to your life. I will leave you with this quote;

From a Sagittarian philosopher: Many people seem to live their lives as if this were a dress rehearsal. This is not a dress rehearsal. This is the real thing. The curtain is up and all the stops are out. You are alive. Start living!

 

Abigail Pike                 me

Leave a Reply

